top of page
  • thegentletraveler

Walking in moccasins

Nov 29, 2018


Walking in moccasins

Boots made for snow

Long hair flowing, freezing

Beaded braids glowing in a halo

Of moonlight


I step one by one in the footsteps of a giant

Bear, where will your hunger lead you?

Bear, where will you roam?

Bear, how can you find me?

Bear, will you eat me alive?


I have a fantasy-- and it is probably a silly one—

That Bear and I will have tea

And he will let me scratch him behind the ear

And the most harm that will come to me

Is a slight rash from the roughness of his tongue

A thousand bear licks, its not a phrase you hear every day


And the truth is, on that smooth snowy night

I was in jeans and a poncho

And wore faux fur boots

And my long hair was actually in pigtails


The snow enveloped us like a soft, cold blanket

Where hops grew by the trickling river

And everything, everything

Was covered

In white.


(Originally written in 2012)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page