top of page
  • thegentletraveler

Too Much

November 20, 2018


Why is it so hard to love you

And just be me?


Is it just because you want me to be something else

I could never be

Or is the illusion inside me


Is it that

I want me to be something else

When I am with you


Less loud, less harsh, less in your face

Quiet demure subtle

Gentle flowing graceful (ha!)


Although I am rarely any of those things

I am more of a bull in a china shop

The elephant in the room

In your face and

Laughing out loud


I cry often

And at very inopportune times


I am a river after winter

And that is much too much too much

For most anyone

To stand for too long


Is there some place I can sneak off to

Without anyone ever knowing?

Where I can be me

And not hide behind a shell

Of this tiny frame


Where I can be large

And obnoxious

And free


And still

Someone

Anyone!

Would want to hug me

And say

That I am beautiful


Because of the way I am

Not in spite of it

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page