top of page
  • thegentletraveler

Shadow Walking


Jan 30, 2019

London St.

St Leonards on Sea

Sussex UK


Walking Alone

I can be no one


Nothing

Is a certain feeling

Or a nonfeeling

To be no one

Walking

Looking

At seaworn

English faces

Hearing

Cockney

Hard

Like cork pops

In the darkness


Seeing

Weathered, stern

But lovely

Eyes and nose and mouth

Like thin lines

In drab browns and greys

Against the wind


I truly

Dance

Back and forth

Between

Missing you

And being

Absolutely

Blissfully

Free


To be

No one


That way

I AM

A mere shadow

An observer

An eyeball attached to a nothing


A Traveler.


This way

Walking along shadows

I myself

Disappear

And the poem

Emerges

Of its own accord


The sea

The sidewalk

The wind

The hoods up

The heads down

The flickering light

On the side of

The old sad church

The sea town


History


Everything

At

Once.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page