top of page
  • thegentletraveler

New Year, Old Conversation


This year

I will be bold


I will not tolerate

Hatespeak


I will stand alone

And stand for principle


If I have to


Hate speak

Is hate speak


There will be a lot to be forgiven about


This year

Could be

The year of reckoning


This could be the year of trial

Religions have stood

On the bloody proud shoulders

Of haters

Who talk trash

Ignorant

Of loves and families


But I remember your little apartment

And the feasts that lasted until the morning

The hungry laughing mouths

Amongst the vines and tiny alleyway balconies

Of Dauphine.


Hatespeak

Makes me thing of you

And R

And laughter like I have never laughed before

And food and fun and wine and smoke


Tradition

In the end

Was what I ran from

I suppose


But while I was loving you

I was quite in my element

My brother

Dreaming of

Date palm trees

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page