top of page
  • thegentletraveler

It Has Nothing to Do with the Weather

March 24, 2019


I have been waiting for that surge of energy

An embodiment I guess

A relief from numbness

Something that says that I am alive


I thought it was the weather

All the greyness and moving about

Exhausting sometimes

But then I realized

That it had nothing to do

With a sunny day


That what was missing

Was me


When I say

To myself

To the world

That I am present

I am here

That I have a preference

And it is mine

That no one can tell me what to

Think, feel, be


That I can love who I want

That I can do what I want

That I can set anxiety aside

That I don't have to please others

Because others are really never

Ever really pleased


When I can look in the mirror

And feel it in my bones

Freedom

I can live my life

The only one I have

And feel alive

In my own

Skin.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page