top of page
  • thegentletraveler

Ancient Architects

Bodiam Castle, UK

Feb 11, 2019


My hand goes gently on the soft curves of sandstone

And I feel hungry and thirsty and hot

I am hard-working

My body is so from hard labor

But my mind completely satisfied

It was a good days work

A good month

A good year

And now that it is over

I smooth the rough edges out

Make the last indelible mark

Before the plaster is affixed

Covering it up for what could be centuries.


Who will see this mark?

This arrow pointing to the heavens

Who will understand

That it was I

Who put it there

But I am not the only one?


I hear the sounds of laughter

In the Great Hall

The assembly will move in soon

But tonight

In the midst of soot and sweat

And masonry hands

The Great Hall

The candle flames

The giant vats of stew and ale

All are ours

We can invite family and friends

And live like

And celebrate

A monumental

Job well done!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page