top of page
  • thegentletraveler

Royal Mile 1566



The sound of trumpets And bagpipes And cannon And smells of pig roasting And fires smoking

The clicking of hooves Along cobblestone My mother yells Wee child get ye out road ! I ignore her And she smiles and she runs To swoop me up in her big bosom I kick and scream

Pet m'down!

I love the feel of my own feet On cobblestone To be surrounded by adoring faces Waiting for the procession With their colorful flags And gilded carriages Their big beards and big robes And ladies who sparkle with cold cold eyes

They will pass by soon She gives me a spot of sweet bread To satisfy me And tells me to Stay Child!

I do But still I step one small stubnorn foot Out amongst the cobblestone My clogged toe Out on the street Of the big wide world.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page