top of page
  • thegentletraveler

Across the Pond


Jan 20, 2019

A fine start to our Europe adventures! First of all, I am writing this on a brand new phone that I never thought in a million years I would be able to get...and for a little more than $100 out the door! The little guy Alex was great and put in all my apps.

Then a jolly ride to the airport where we practiced our English accents (poorly), but prior to leaving I whipped up a travel vlog...my first one, can you imagine?

And now I am on a plane that looks like it was built at IKEA. It's all puffy and shiney and very very clean. New tech as well. Example: they don't have curtains to block out the sun on this flight. They have this little nob that you push and the window TURNS BLACK. Awesome!

What else? We have a row all to ourselves! On a practically full flight no less!

Okay, okay, I don't mean to get all Polly Anna here, but really, what are the odds?


Then again, I moved over to see the sparkly lights of tinsel town from way high up and that's when I noticed the drip. Later it was explained by the heavy-accent stewardess that it is normal and comes from the air conditioning vent. She gave me a couple of napkins to stuff in the vent. Then the guy in front of me wanted some cuz the top if his head was getting pelted as well.

All this would have been endearing and kind of cute even except that a bit of water went into my eyeball and suddenly I was plagued by thoughts of black mold taking over my eye socket. Of course, it would inevitably take over my brain and all my teeth would fall out and I would wind up looking like that character on District 9 before he fully converted to a cockroach.

Not to worry though! S got out his handy eye drops and I flushed it and hey that's all I can do right now. If I am destined for a weird fate of death by eyeball mold on my first flight to London, then so be it.

We both decided that this trip was going to be quirky. Why? Because we asked for an adventure and the universe always delivers. Personally I think those "up there" are playing with four decks of cards when it comes to us for the next few months...kind of like a cosmic clue game.

Here's how it works. They choose from the piles: who, what, where, and how. With those leads to go by, the Universe makes up a colorful but completely random scenario for us. Like a strange drip that happens to go into my eyeball.

It leave us to figure out the why.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page